Reading James Baldwin

I have been trying to push myself towards non-fiction for years. I’ll admit the effort has not been great or with my full heart. I had forgotten all but forgotten about the goal until my cousin posted a status looking for “The Uses of Blues” by James Baldwin last night. A sign! Right?

I fell in love with Baldwin’s fiction years ago but I’ve been dancing around his essays for a while. I’ll pick up the slim white paperbacks at used bookstores, store them in my bags, move them to my bookshelf and then neglect them. I’ll find quotes by him and feel inspired but then move on without further thought. To be honest, it’s starting to feel like a half assed love affair.

And so that brings me to another goal. I own at least two books of his essays. I can’t say I will finish them this year. I can’t say I will love them. But I will stop just looking at them. I will challenge myself and hopefully take this relationship to another level.

Front Cover: The Fire Next Time Back Cover: The Devil Finds Work
Front Cover: The Fire Next Time
Back Cover: The Devil Finds Work
Reading James Baldwin

One thought on “Reading James Baldwin

Leave a Reply

