Melissa went on vacation (and there were pictures)

I have done some major things this year. One my favorite things that I did was take a big trip.

I haven’t taken a vacation in about three years. Something usually comes up and I let my fear/paranoia keep me in my corner. And so this year, I decided to attend DragonCon. I made the solid decision to purchase the ticket to the convention, I bought the plane ticket, I purchased shorts because it was super hot in Atlanta and I put my time in at my job so I could leave. And then I left.

My pretty badge that I will have for always
My pretty badge that I will have for always

I am so grateful for that vacation. I was nervous right until I got on the plane but it all worked out. Everything worked out with that trip. I got to meet people I’ve never been face to face with before.

Our first friendship picture!
Our first friendship picture!
We laughed so much that night
We laughed so much that night

I attended a panel that featured Mary McDonnell and I got to see some really good cosplay. I went to what felt like the smallest gay club in Atlanta where a drag queen jumped from the bar and landed in a split. It was the type of event you only see on television. Also I ate a doughnut that was topped with caramel and real bacon. I got to see neighborhoods in Atlanta, experience the hills of Atlanta and see that people are angry drivers in Atlanta.

Yup. This happened.
Yup. This happened.

It was also a lesson for me. I was able to leave and come back and everything was okay. Things will be okay. The world didn’t fall to zombies. I didn’t come back to piles of mess. I wasn’t in debt due to leaving. I packed enough clothes and I was on time for both flights. It is completely okay to relax, and unclench my fist.

I will remember this lesson when planning future trips and vacations because there will be future trips and vacations. Most importantly, I will strive to remember this when I am freaking out at 2 am over something that I can’t do anything about until at least 9 am. I will strive to remember that life has the astounding ability to be okay.

Melissa went on vacation (and there were pictures)

Leave a Reply

