Melissa Hearts Graphic Novels and Comics

It’s Friday night, I don’t have a car, a date or friends who are going out to the bar. This means you get a blog post. I don’t have anything major going on right now so you get a fun blog post. Well fun if you’re kind of a nerd and/or geek. Don’t get me started on the difference. No, really the lines are blurry for me. Anyway, you’re welcome.

I’m going to warn you, I’m going to use the terms graphic novels and comics interchangeably. If you want to argue about that then feel free. Yell at your screen. Shake your fist. Comment on this post (you’ll be one of like four people to do so), I’ll take your anger. Okay. Let’s begin this post.

It was around the time the Wolverine movie, that I never saw, came out. I found myself on sites like denofgeek.com, and laughing at blog posts like this: The 40 Worst Rob Liefeld Drawings. Dude, years later and it’s still funny. Anyway, I found myself on Wikipedia looking up X-Men characters more and more. My interest slowly kept building until I had to tell someone. I told everyone. Comics are actually what added a new dimension to my friendship with my lifelong non sexual partner, Brandy. Hi, Brandy! Sure, we had already bonded over a love of reading, Kevin Smith movies and Paul Newman  but we had yet to admit to each other that deep inside… we were geeks.

I was still timid about my dipping into the world of comics. I would slowly circle the graphic novel section of Borders before quickly hiding away into the fiction section to re-arrange the African American literature section. You’re welcome, no one puts Toni Morrison in a corner.  Finally, after doing enough research, I engaged real life strangers into a discussion. I meekly asked “Do you have the Wolverine one by Paul Jenkins?” I had my eye on it but said nothing. A woman, who looked like every picture of a geek girl I’ve ever seen since, answered and somehow we got on the topic of the comic/graphic novel that changed everything for me.

Preacher. It’s really offensive and not for the faint of heart. At. All.

I checked it out not too long afterward and spent the next few weeks with my jaw dropped. I finished the entire series at once. I’d bring it with me when I went to friends’ houses and school. If there was a free moment, my eyes were scanning Garth Ennis’ work of frakkin’ genius.

When it was over, I feared my love of this genre would fade and I’d return to whatever I was into before. I figured this would be another fad in things I tried and late abandoned. I was wrong.

Next came Sandman. I read this mostly because I wanted to know why Pete from Alma loved it so much. I know now.

I’m still not done with that…it’s very long series. And around that time I got recommended The Ultimate Avengers which lead to the Ultimate Fantastic Four (not as great).

Of course some where in here is the Sin City series. Most of which I read while sitting in the University’s Barnes and Noble on a Saturday afternoon. Frank Miller probably doesn’t like women all that much and that’s fine because I like his stories…even if I cringe. Batman Year One was around this time I think. I’m sure Miller doesn’t like women.

It wasn’t long before I found myself at a comic bookstore looking through the clearance section. You know they put them there because they don’t have the entire series. It has taken me over a year to finish Neverwhere. I’m a Neil Gaiman fan.

I have a few more added to my love. Do not get me started on Runaways

Okay. That picture is larger than necessary but if you knew volume one like I know volume one, you’d understand why.

Anyway, loving comic books has been one of the better things to happen to me in a long while. I was prejudiced against them at first, believing that if the book had pictures that it didn’t count as reading. I’m pretty sure I was one of those people that felt a little cooler for not reading comic books.  I believed that it would further put me down as nerd which up until recently was a title I bore with some resentment. This could be because it used to be said with more than a touch of pity. I didn’t realize how much I hated being a “nerd” until I stopped hating it.  I’m actually ridiculously proud of it now. I now realize that I was always a little jealous of the nerds who could play video games and knew which comics to buy.

So thank you comic books and graphic novels. I now have something extra to add my interests and another checklist item on things in which I would like potential dates to be interested. You don’t have to like comics to date me but you better be prepared for a long conversation in a very high pitched voice if you say one cross word about them or Preacher.

Melissa Hearts Graphic Novels and Comics

Leave a Reply

