Melissa turns in her big gay crush

A while ago, I stated that I was a huge fan of Barney Frank. I still believe in the statements he made on that post (look it up, my heart is too broken to go to the link) but I’ve recently learned of some very anti-transgender statements and bill writing. I’ve never known a man so obsessed with bathrooms before.

I haven’t been through all the statements and all the links but this is one I feel describes it best:http://www.transadvocate.com/enda-and-barney-franks-trans-penis-panic.htm

I’m going to copy and paste this next statement because I went through some stages with it:

He said concessions were made in the drafting of the language to address moderates’ concerns. For instance, Frank said, transgender people with “one set of genitals” would not be able to go to a bathroom for people with another set of genitals.

And, Frank said, they also would have to have a “consistent gender presentation” in order to be able to sue for discrimination. “They can’t sit there with a full beard and a dress,” Frank said. (from-http://gudbuytjane.wordpress.com/2010/05/11/barney-frank-get-out-of-my-pants/)

First Stage: Anger- “How dare they get mad at Barney Frank! Do you know how he is?!

Second Stage: Denial- “Well, I’m sure he didn’t mean it like. Maybe he’s paraphrasing the people he made those concessions for and he’s just not doing a very good job of stating those concessions and it’s Barney Frank and I’m sure people are being sensitive and….”

Third State: Bargaining- “He made what appears to be a bad quote which everyone does in their careers at some point, surely he doesn’t have a history of this sort of thing. I’m sure if I google enough, I’ll find an apology and we can put this whole nasty business behind us.”

Fourth Stage: Post Google Acceptance- “Nards.”

That was all happened in 20 minutes.

I don’t agree with those concessions.  The words he used are not just thoughtless (cough Michael Steele end cough) but also hurtful. I guess you got to be the right kind of transgender in order to get Frank’s support and backing.

I might have understood if he just came out with “Listen guys, I don’t want to do this but we gotta get this passed.” He did not.

This feels worse than the second season of Heroes…we all know that sucked.

Melissa turns in her big gay crush

2 thoughts on “Melissa turns in her big gay crush

  1. K says:

    It’s another one of those times when you want to just shake somebody for not “getting” it, especially when that person is also a member of a marginalized group and damn well should know just how important/damaging language and prejudice can be.

    Not that being gay should make Frank some kind of discrimination savant, but…you know. He could stand to be more sensitive.

    (P.S. I’m reading your blog! Proof that I do other stuff on the internets besides Twitter-stalk)

  2. missionmelissa says:

    I love that you are reading my blog! It shouldn’t make Frank a “discrimination savant” but to me this was one more example of a G be squeamish about T.

Leave a Reply

