Melissa wants Kirstie Alley to shut up

I used to be a fan of Kirstie Alley. I watched “It Takes Two” multiple times even when was I was clearly too old to enjoy the movie. Kirstie Alley was a bigger woman, funny, and she got the guy…sure the guy was Steve Guttenberg but whatever. I was fan. I was even one of those annoying incorrect people who stated Rebecca was better than Diane. I changed my mind after a few Diane episodes but Kelsey Grammar trumped Shelly Long so there. I have nothing against Shelly Long. Stay on topic.

Anyway, I also watched ALL of the ‘Look Who’s Talking’  movies for Kirstie Alley.  I even liked the 3rd one and that one kinda sucked. I don’t have bad taste in movies, I just pick an actress/actor and stick with them.

I even watched Fat Actress. Yea. That one person watching the awkward scenes between Hanging with Mr. Cooper and the now fat Vulcan- Romulan? That was me.

And so we fast forward to now. If you’ve watched the clip above then I’m kinda sorry but I have a point to make. I need Kristie Alley to stop talking about her weight. Not because I don’t feel her pain but because I’m tired of how much she hates her body. I am sooo tired of how much she hates her body. I feel like I’ve been hearing about how much she hates her body for like ten years. I don’t want her to be forced to accept a body she doesn’t like but I would LOVE if she shut the hell up about it. And so a letter.

Dear Kirstie Alley,

America knows you hate being fat. We get you don’t like your body. It kinda sucks that you hate being fat because you are fat. Personally, I don’t think you’ll ever have your body from the 80s or even from when you went on Orpah sporting a two piece and that’s cool with me and probably a bunch of other people.  But it’s not cool with you. We get it. No one is asking you to join a Fat Acceptance movement or do ads for adiposivity project. That link isn’t work safe. Don’t click it at work.

In short, I can’t tell you how to feel about your body. I would hate for someone to tell me how to feel about my body. I can say that I used to be a fan until you made a career out of hating your body. I hope you are able to lose the weight and keep off, if it will make you shut up about it.

Good luck on your new show.

Sincerely,

Me.

Melissa wants Kirstie Alley to shut up

Leave a Reply

